“Coffee Stains”, an artist’s statement

I miss this. I’ve been wicked reclusive lately, writing, yes, but not traveling, not going anywhere. I’m excited to be returning to Rhode Island in a couple of weeks and have the opportunity to run around in a different place for a while. Maybe even a long while, if I get my act together. This sketchbook was a lot of fun to work on. As was visiting all those coffeehouses and writing this statement.

Love & Coffee
Bex

LiteraryBex

20150331_085008

My submission for this year’s Sketchbook Project with the Brooklyn Art Library: “Coffee Stains”.

20150331_084428

The following is my Artist’s Statement as written on the Sketchbook Project website:

My lifestyle causes me to move every few months.  Sometimes I’m returning somewhere familiar, sometimes I’m lucky enough to stay with friends and family, sometimes I go somewhere completely new.  Everywhere I go: I drink coffee.  When I chose the “Wanderer” theme I had the idea to chronicle my travels through drawings of cups of coffee in each location.  Then, I couldn’t find my sketchbook.

20150331_084437

On my travels went, though, and I found myself outside Portland, OR for two months, wherein I inadvertently found myself making what I called the “coffeehouse tour of Portland”.  I visited a different coffeehouse nearly every visit into the city, I sat there with my drink and wrote, or drew, and soaked in the culture of the coffeehouse.  At…

View original post 378 more words

Leave a Reply

