Cockroach Woes

wpid-2014-07-16-22.06.30.jpg.jpeg

A couple of my sisters are deathly afraid of insects.  One of them, you even mention you saw a tick thousands of miles away ten years ago and she starts freaking out saying she feels them crawling all over her.

I quite like insects.  I don’t know a lot about them and if I find something biting me I will smoosh their arthropod asses, but I do like them.  I became really interested in insects last year ago while I was working in the Connecticut woods.  It was then that I got my first Madagascar Hissing Cockroaches (Bill & Ted).  They died, tragically, in an overheated greenhouse.  But before they went they were extremely useful in helping children be less afraid of bugs.

Madagascar Hissing Cockroaches are big, so you can see the different parts; they don’t fly or jump, so it’s unlikely you’ll accidentally release an exotic species into an area; and, they don’t bite, so you don’t have to be afraid of children, or other nervous folk, handling them.  I got my current Madagascar Hissing Cockroach, Frankie, recently so I can use her to teach about insects this coming fall.

Lately, however, I’ve been a little creeped out.  We’ve been finding other roach-like insects in the house.  Today, alone, I’ve squashed two insects I am sure were German Cockroaches (which are, apparently, very common and like to eat books).  A few weeks ago, my parents call me in a panic because they thought Frankie was having babies.  After we did some research we were confident they were other bugs that got into the tank.  The ones I saw looked roach-like, but I still wasn’t convinced they came from Frankie.

My question now is: are these other insects showing up because of Frankie?  Or were they already here, attracted by the muggy humidity of a New England Summer?  What do I do?

Leave a Reply

