Found this gem this week.

Not really certain what it is; it’s some sort of larva, but for what exactly we don’t know.  Our insect guide had something that looked very similar to it that was a dobsonfly larva, called a ‘hellgrammite’, and, according to the internet research I’ve done, what I found is most likely some sort of variety of hellgrammite.  Which means, since I’m most likely going to live here for most of the year, I might see this monstrous larvae in it’s fly form.

Insects are weird.  The fact that they undergo a metamorphosis during their lifetime is so very strange to me.  I think I really should finish reading that Kafka story this summer if I’m really dead set on searching for and collecting bugs all summer with little children.

Leave a Reply

