I hate election season (or why I should have voted for Jill Stein)

I hate politics.  Not because I don’t believe in the system (necessarily) or am apathetic toward government, on the contrary, I think our system was born out of a very specific need and did exactly what it needed to do and I hold politicians to a very high standard.  I believe politicians ought to be the mouthpiece for the people they represent, and, hopefully, also believe in what the people they represent also believe.  I haven’t voted in every single election since I turned 18, but I have voted every year we’ve had a presidential election.

Here’s the main reason I hate politics and election season and all that crap: Politicians never say anything.  Sure, they talk a lot, but if you break down what they are saying, 80% of the time the words coming out of their mouths don’t actually mean anything.  It’s sort of like reading Dianetics by L.Ron Hubbard – paragraph after paragraph of absolutely nothing.  I believe Rhetoric has a place, but founding a religion and leading a people are not the places in which to use it.  Except it’s where it’s always used; there, and Madison Avenue.  I have this awful and horrible habit of not trusting anyone who isn’t saying anything when they talk and since that’s all politicians do, I don’t believe any of them.  Hence why I hate politics.  If I can’t trust a person when they speak, how can I trust them when they’re meant to be leading my country?

Call me cynical, but it’s how it is.  I trust my Meteorologist before I trust my Senator.

I also live in Massachusetts: the other reason I hate election season.  Massachusetts is pretty predictable when it comes to national elections.  We’re most likely going to go Democratic.  We’re pretty blue around here.  It makes voting in national elections in Massachusetts almost a joke.  61% of Massachusetts voted for Obama yesterday, 38% for Romney, 1% for both Johnson and Stein.  0% people in my town voted for Jill Stein.  That makes me sad.  I almost did, just because I don’t actually care all that much for either the Democratic or the Republican candidates, but I disliked one of them more than the other to want to root for whomever beats the Yankees, be that the other main party or one of the smaller, lesser (un)known candidates.  Four years ago, in my confidence that my state was going to go Blue, I voted for Ralph Nader.  I like Nader; if, for no other reason because I’m impressed he comes from Winsted CT, which is, currently, a sad excuse for a town.  Plus, the dude likes ecology.  Not strong reasons to vote for him, but strong enough reasons to vote for him when I knew I was “throwing away” my vote anyway.

Part of me wishes now that I had voted for Ms Stein, if for no other reason than the Nader principle.

*and, now that I actually know a thing or two about her, I think I like her more than the others…. shit.

3 thoughts on “I hate election season (or why I should have voted for Jill Stein)

  1. I would have voted for Stein but I didn’t read her stance until after I voted.(stupid) And I agree with her on (almost) everything. Way more than any other political candidate on the ballot. Next year maybe? But I also assuaged my guilty conscience by reading articles on how it doesn’t matter too much if you vote or not anyway.

    • That’s the main thought that keeps me solid in how I did vote: the fact that Massachusetts, and Marlborough in particular, were still going to be choosing Obama no matter which little bubble I marked. Only now that I know more about Stein, I’m a little sorry I didn’t give her the extra little boost.

  2. Pingback: Dear WordPress, I knew I liked you. « literarybex

Leave a Reply

