About two years ago

I submitted a piece for consideration in a collection of stories that was to be bound and published.  I would be “paid” with a copy of the book.  The editors wrote me and told me they had accepted my piece and wanted more information about me.

This was a year and a half or so ago.

Just this past week I got another email saying that my piece doesn’t fit with the theme of the book and they’ve decided to cut it afterall, so very sorry.

Oh, well.  I was actually really shocked that piece was even considered.  I don’t actually like it.

5 thoughts on “About two years ago

      • I’ve written two short stories so far that I sent to competitions (very recently) but I’m kind of wondering if I am going to hate them in the end. I actually can’t bring myself to re-read them yet! They were both out of genre (if you know what I mean) so probably not my best work but I thought I’d start that way.

  1. I’ve been having this conversation with my Fella (he writes songs) and for him his most recent piece, or what he’s working on at the moment, is always his favorite. He doesn’t dislike what he wrote before, but they’ve been replaced by the current song. I pointed out that it probably has something to do with how with each thing we write we improve. With his songs, it’s definitely true: in the past year we’ve been dating each song he’s written has been a little better, a little stronger than the previous one.

    With writing I find I am often dissatisfied with what I’ve written on a technical level, but there comes a time when I have to learn to forget about improving (because, as I read in a particularly good book recently “a sentence can be improved forever”) and focusing on the story instead. As long as I can get the story out then I can worry about the rest of it later.

    The piece that was ultimately rejected from the project was something I wrote specifically for the project. Which is why I was surprised they wanted to include it. I didn’t write it because I loved it, or felt like I had to get that story out there, I wrote it for the experience. Which has merit, but it definitely made for a weaker piece than had it been something I cared about writing.

    Personally, I think it’s good to write in varying genres, if only as an exercise. I honestly don’t even think about genre all that much when I’m writing, unless I’ve got something specifically in mind (Like the Lovecraft inspired piece I started this summer). I finished a piece after working on it for about six months, I cried, I put it away and didn’t look at it for another four months then printed it out and started editing it. I have mixed feelings about that one, I don’t think I hate it, but I don’t think I love it. But it’s mine and if anyone were to rip on it, I think I’d give them a piece of my mind. (I’m assuming this will make sense to you.)

Leave a Reply

